top of page

My Writing Kryptonite


Writing in a relationship As I sit at my desk composing this essay, I find myself distracted by the swaying palm fronds out my window and the chirping of birds calling me out to play in the yard. The trees need water the weeds need pulling yet here I sit talking with you. However tempting the outside world is to me, nature is not my usual distraction. In fact, I do the vast majority of my writing from the warm, cozy confides of my bed. The curtains are drawn, the door is shut tight and every pillow on the bed has got me propped up into position. It's just me, my pen, and my 5 subject notebook. I furiously write as the thoughts and phrases race into my head. The words come so fast I can barley get them onto the paper. The perfect line has just popped into my head, when.... My amazing and supportive husband opens the door, "I brought you some coffee, love." My eyes flash red, snakes lurch and hiss from within my tangle of hair. COFFEE ??? COFFEE !!! I'm livid. How? Why? Does he not know that even the slightest distraction can make me lose an entire page, or thought, or plot line? His only thoughts are for my well being. Food, sunlight, coffee... The nerve of our loved ones. Do they not know that during a writing session life stops. Nourishment is an after thought to art. I smooth down the serpents and calm down my dog, who has picked up on my energy. "Thank you." I say, as kindly as I can through gritted teeth. My husband shrinks away, averting his eyes least he be turned to stone and shuts the door on my inappropriate response to his kindness. Don't get me wrong I want to keep my husband. I want him to continue to be kind and generous. I just don't want it when I'm writing. It's hard to balance sanity and writing, or courtesy and writing, or anything else and writing, but I'm working on it. J. Lee Roberts

@catalinasden

catalinasden@gmail.com

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
IMG_0493_edited.jpg
small c1.jpg
small tag-100-150.jpg
ctlss-jlr-100-150.jpg
tn-cqotn-jlr-200-300.jpg
cat5small.jpg

J. Lee Roberts (@catalinasden ) Loves gardening, writing, and her peaceful surroundings. She is the author of six sci- fi erotica novels... Read More

Subscribe to my newsletter and enter to win a free digital book. 

Hot Dates to 

Remember

Get the Shot? or Not?

Learn more..

Who says you have to play nice?

Learn more...

Celebrate every day... In Bed.

Learn more...

Date Night ??? From Home

Learn more...

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle

Follow Me

LP tag.jpeg
cat-6-200-300.jpg
Catalina AudioJ.Lee Roberts
00:00 / 04:43
bottom of page