top of page

Best Compliment Ever!


I have never been good at taking compliments. It's more of a question of how than why. Do you say "Thank you"? OK, so yes that's what you are suppose to do but who does that every time? I always feel so awkward or even superficial when I receive praise. Saying "thanks " when someone mentions they like my shirt or my hair that day, makes me feel like "oh ya, I know. That's why I wore it today." Instead I generally try to explain that I found it for dirt cheep at a thrift store and I don't even deserve to own such a wonderful garment, or avoid their compliment entirely and simply give one back. In retrospect I probably should have just said "thank you." Which, brings me to a recent compliment I received the other day when I actually responded appropriately. A dear friend was visiting a few weeks ago and we were getting ready for a camping trip (to be fair, I've been going camping all my life) I had everything prepared; bedding, dishes, food, and gear for 5. I was telling my friend how I like to prep all the food at home so I'm not doing it on the beach, that's when she told me I was, "so good at life." In honesty this is the second time she had given me this wonderful adulation. The first time was during a similar situation and it moved me just as much then as it did recently. I think the reason I loved her compliment so much is because I feel the same way about myself. I know it's a bit braggadocios (love that word by the way) but I have always felt that life comes easy for me. Its hard to admit it when I see so much suffering everyday but it's my truth. I have so many friends that struggle just to get up and going and out of the house on a daily basis. It makes me feel truly blessed to know that the universe is on my side. If I knew the secret to my success I promise I would tell. Perhaps it's because I have low blood pressure and the world just beats a bit slower for me, giving me a little extra time to get things rolling. I've always thought it was because I have low standards. My life it not perfect by any means but I give thanks every day for what I have. My parents taught me to be self sufficient and practical and I believe that has had a huge impact on how I experience life. So, my point is- "Thank you. Thank you for seeing in me, what I have always believed to be true."

Keep on giving out those compliments, no thanks needed.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
IMG_0493_edited.jpg
small c1.jpg
small tag-100-150.jpg
ctlss-jlr-100-150.jpg
tn-cqotn-jlr-200-300.jpg
cat5small.jpg

J. Lee Roberts (@catalinasden ) Loves gardening, writing, and her peaceful surroundings. She is the author of six sci- fi erotica novels... Read More

Subscribe to my newsletter and enter to win a free digital book. 

Hot Dates to 

Remember

Get the Shot? or Not?

Learn more..

Who says you have to play nice?

Learn more...

Celebrate every day... In Bed.

Learn more...

Date Night ??? From Home

Learn more...

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle

Follow Me

LP tag.jpeg
cat-6-200-300.jpg
Catalina AudioJ.Lee Roberts
00:00 / 04:43
bottom of page